Geographic and Governmental Profile of Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies. When the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.
Caribbean, three-island group (Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, Little Cayman) in Caribbean Sea, 240 km south of Cuba and 268 km northwest of Jamaica
Geographic coordinates
19 30 N, 80 30 W
Continent / Subcontinent
Central America and the Caribbean
264 sq km
264 sq km
0 sq km
Area - comparative
1.5 times the size of Washington, DC
Land boundaries
0 km
160 km
Maritime claims
territorial sea:
12 nm
exclusive fishing zone:
200 nm
tropical marine; warm, rainy summers (May to October) and cool, relatively dry winters (November to April)
low-lying limestone base surrounded by coral reefs
Elevation extremes
lowest point:
Caribbean Sea 0 m
highest point:
The Bluff on Cayman Brac 43 m
Natural resources
fish, climate and beaches that foster tourism
Land use
arable land:
permanent crops:
96.15% (2005)
Get Chart Code
Get Chart Code
Irrigated land
Natural hazards
hurricanes (July to November)
Environment - current issues
no natural freshwater resources; drinking water supplies must be met by rainwater catchments
Geography - note
important location between Cuba and Central America
Country name
conventional long form:
conventional short form:
Cayman Islands
Dependency status
overseas territory of the UK
Government type
parliamentary democracy
George Town (on Grand Cayman)
geographic coordinates:
19 18 N, 81 23 W
time difference:
UTC-5 (same time as Washington, DC during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions
8 districts; Creek, Eastern, Midland, South Town, Spot Bay, Stake Bay, West End, Western
none (overseas territory of the UK)
The Cayman Islands Constitution Order 2009, 6 November 2009
Legal system
English common law and local statutes
18 years of age; universal
Executive branch
chief of state:
Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Governor Duncan TAYLOR (since 15 January 2010)
head of government:
Premier McKeeva BUSH (since 6 November 2009)
The Cabinet (six members are appointed by the governor on the advice of the premier, selected from among the elected members of the Legislative Assembly)
the monarchy is hereditary; the governor appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or coalition appointed by the governor as premier
Legislative branch
unicameral Legislative Assembly (20 seats; 18 members elected by popular vote and 2 ex officio members from The Cabinet; to serve four-year terms)
last held on 20 May 2009 (next to be held not later than May 2013)
election results:
percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UDP 9, PPM 5, independent 1
Judicial branch
Grand Court; Cayman Islands Court of Appeal; Summary Court
Political parties and leaders
People's Progressive Movement or PPM [Kurt TIBBETTS]; United Democratic Party or UDP [McKeeva BUSH]
Political pressure groups and leaders
National Trust
International organization participation
Caricom (associate), CDB, Interpol (subbureau), IOC, UNESCO (associate), UPU
Diplomatic representation in the US
none (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic representation from the US
none (overseas territory of the UK); consular services provided through the US Embassy in Jamaica
Flag description
a blue field, with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Caymanian coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms includes a crest with a pineapple, representing the connection with Jamaica, and a turtle, representing Cayman's seafaring tradition, above a shield bearing a golden lion, symbolizing Great Britain, below which are three green stars (representing the three islands) surmounting white and blue wavy lines representing the sea and a scroll at the bottom bearing the motto HE HATH FOUNDED IT UPON THE SEAS
National anthem
"Beloved Isle Cayman"
Leila E. ROSS
adopted 1993; served as an unofficial anthem since 1930; as a territory of the United Kingdom, in addition to the local anthem, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)
Data source 1: All Above textual data, maps and flags were extracted from The World Factbook which was prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency and made available on the following link: The World Factbook. Lebanese Economy Forum is not sponsered or affiliated, in any way, by the US Central Intelligence Agency
Data source 2: Plots and Charts are constructed using the world bank public data catalog which can be viewed by visiting the following link: World Bank Data Catalog. Lebanese Economy Forum is not sponsored or affiliated, in any way, by the worldbank

Comments are closed.